Go to top of page

NABERS welcomes new stakeholder members to Steering Committee

News | 18 February 2021

14 industry organisations have been selected to join the NABERS Steering Committee as stakeholder members for a three-year term following an expression of interest process in 2020.

Three industry organisations have joined the NABERS Steering Committee for the first time. They will join 11 of Australia’s leading industry bodies, who have been part of NABERS governance in the past and have been renewed for another three-year term. Together these organisations represent a wide range of NABERS stakeholders across building sectors and the wider Australian economy.

Stakeholder members form an immensely valuable part of NABERS’ governance, providing crucial industry insights which contribute to NABERS’ strategic direction and business planning. While stakeholder members are non-voting, they actively participate and provide input into all deciions made by government members of the NABERS Steering Committee. They are typically peak industry bodies or other representation organisations, rather than individual companies or professionals.

"We are very fortunate to have a Steering Committee made of Australia’s leading building sustainability organisations, both in industry as well as government," says Carlos Flores, Director, NABERS. "We are also excited to welcome members from new sectors to NABERS, such as apartment buildings and residential aged care, as well as from indoor environmental quality, which is one of our highest growth areas in recent years."

As a national government program administered by the NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment, the Steering Committee is NABERS’ principal governance body. In addition to stakeholder members, the committee also includes voting government members from the Australian Government, states and territories.

New stakeholder members are listed here with their respective representatives:

  • Aged Care Industry Association (ACIA) - Luke Westenberg, Chief Executive Officer
  • Indoor Air Quality Association Australia (IAQAA) - Jonathan Dalton, Managing Director, Viridis Australasia
  • Strata Community Association (SCA) – Sean McNamara, Sustainability Committee Member and Shaun Brockman, Sustainability Committee Member (alternate)

The following members re-join the NSC for a new three-year term, with representatives as listed:

  • Australian Institute of Architects (AIA) - Stefan Preuss, Associate Victorian Government Architect
  • Australian Institute of Refrigeration Air Conditioning and Heating (AIRAH) – Bruce Precious, Principal Consultant, Six Capitals Consulting and Vyt Garnys, Managing Director and Principal Consultant, CETEC
  • Australian Property Institute (API) - Roger Walker, Planet Ark Power, Customer Experience Manager
  • Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council (ASBEC) – Luke Menzel, ASBEC Deputy President
  • Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers (CIBSE) - Stephen Hennessy, Technical Advisor and Membership Secretary
  • Council of Capital City Lord Mayors (CCCLM) - Melinda Dewsnap, A/Manager, Sustainability Programs, City of Sydney
  • Energy Efficiency Council (EEC) - Luke Menzel, Chief Executive Officer
  • Facility Management Association of Australia (FMA) - Nicholas Burt, Chief Executive Officer
  • Green Building Council of Australia (GBCA) – Sandra Qian, Senior Manager, Policy and Government Relations
  • International Building Performance Simulation Association Australasia (IBPSA) - Noni Nuriani, Associate, Sustainability, NDY
  • Property Council of Australia - Francesca Muskovic, National Policy Manager - Sustainability and Regulatory Affairs