Go to top of page

NABERS welcomes new stakeholder members to Steering Committee

News | 12 Feb 2024

Nineteen industry organisations have been selected to join the NABERS Steering Committee as stakeholder members for a three-year term following an expression of interest process in 2023.

Five industry organisations have joined the NABERS Steering Committee for the first time. They will join 14 of Australia’s leading industry bodies, who have been part of NABERS governance in the past and have been renewed for another three-year term. Together these organisations represent a wide range of NABERS stakeholders across building sectors and the wider Australian economy.

Stakeholder members form an immensely valuable part of NABERS’ governance, providing crucial industry insights which contribute to NABERS’ strategic direction and business planning. While stakeholder members are non-voting, they actively participate and provide input into all decisions made by government members of the NABERS Steering Committee. They are typically peak industry bodies or other representation organisations, rather than individual companies or professionals.

"We are also excited to welcome members from five new organisations which represent the expanding ecosystem of NABERS into areas such as retail, embodied carbon warehouses and cold stores." Carlos Flores, Director NABERS & Building Sustainability. 

As a national government program administered by the NSW Government, the Steering Committee is NABERS’ principal governance body. In addition to stakeholder members, the committee also includes voting government members from the Australian Government, states and territories.

New stakeholder members are listed here with their respective representatives:

  • Australian Industry Group (AIG), Tennant Reed, Director - Climate Change and Energy
  • Australian Institute of Quantity Surveyors (AIQS), Anthony Lieberman, Engagement Manager
  • Engineers Australia (EA), Simon Koger, Senior Policy Advisor
  • National Retail Association (NRA), Bonnie Marshall, Policy Officer
  • Supply Chain & Logistics Association of Australia (SCLAA), Sue Tomic, Chair of SCLAA  

The following organisations re-join the NSC for a new three-year term, with representatives as listed:

  • Aged Care Industry Association (ACIA) - Peter Hoppo, Chief Executive Officer
  • Australian Institute of Refrigeration Air Conditioning and Heating (AIRAH) – Vyt Garnys, Principal Consultant and Mark Vender, Advocacy and Policy Manager
  • Australian Property Institute (API) - Amelia Hodge, Chief Executive Officer
  • Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council (ASBEC) – Alison Scotland, Executive Director
  • Council of Capital City Lord Mayors (CCCLM) - Melinda Dewsnap, A/Manager, Sustainability Programs, City of Sydney
  • Chartered Institute of Building Services Engineers (CBSE) - Stephen Hennessy, CIBSE ANZ Membership Secretary
  • Energy Efficiency Council (EEC) - Jeremy Sung, Head of Policy
  • Facility Management Association of Australia (FMA) - Nicholas Burt, Chief Executive Officer
  • Green Building Council of Australia (GBCA) – Shay Singh, Senior Manager Policy and Government Relations
  • Indoor Air Quality Association Australia (IAQAA) - Jonathan Dalton, Member of IAQAA
  • International Building Performance Simulation Association Australasia (IBPSA) - Noni Nuriani, Marketing & Industry Committee Chair
  • Property Council of Australia (PCA) - Frankie Muskovic, National Policy Director
  • Royal Australian Institute of Architects (RAIA), Stefan Preuss, Member of National Climate & Sustainability Committee
  • Strata Community Association (SCA) – Shaun Brockman, National Policy and Advocacy Manager